Backward pronunciation and talking in opposites

I have observed recently that my grand daughter has acquired a habit. There are a few words that she always pronounced backwards. All are English words. I love the way she pronounced those words. I don’t know, because to me it sounds funny. Take "parking" for example, she pronounced it "carping". One day, we were driving towards the local supermarket which she had been before. Suddenly she commented that there are lots of "carping" there. Teeheehe.. it sounds so funny.. with her giving us that innocent childish look.

There is another word that would amuse me to no end – "cavuum". Know what in the world that is? What she meant was "vacuum" – i.e. the machine cleaner that you use to suck dust off your floor. Her mom was preparing to spring-clean the house one day. Like any normal child, my grand daughter was curious (children are curious, aren’t they all?). So she asked her mom, "mom, do you wanna "cavuum" the floor?". Her mom smiled and said "yes, I want to "vacuum" the floor. You wanna help?".

The other day she was about to play with one of her battery-powered toys when she found out that the batteries were missing. She blurted out that there was no "taberi". I can’t help laughing out loud until she got mad at me.

Talking in opposites involves some nouns and adjectives. She would tell her mom that she wants to play "inside" (the house); whereas what she meant was to play "outside" – i.e. outdoors. One day, while riding her tricycle, she fell down on the lawn and dirtied her knee. "Look, I have dirtied my knee, it’s all "white"". What she meant was that she had dirtied her knee and it turned "black". It’s not that she’s confusing the words. She had the meaning correct, but the word that she said is in reverse. Black becomes white and yes.. yellow becomes blue. We were travelling in my car one day, and I gave her some M&Ms. She was sucking and chewing it while standing up in the middle of the car, she suddenly noticed in the rear view mirror that her teeth had turned yellowish. She complained to us that her teeth had turned "blue". Hehehe..

Two days ago, she popped her mom a question: "mom, is it cavuum or vacuum?". I am glad that now she is using her intelligence to differentiate what is the correct term and what is not.


God commands justice and doing good and giving to relatives. And He forbids indecency and doing wrong and tyranny. He warns you so that hopefully you will pay heed.
(Qur’an, 16:90)

Leave a Reply

